New 2016 Legal Recreational Marijuana States
With the election of 2016 just behind us, the Unites States adds four more states to the list of legal recreational marijuana states. What this means is marijuana can be used without medical consent and at the leisure of the consumer. In recreational states, doctors do not need to meet with people and give them a medical for those who want to smoke marijuana. Recreational states leave it up to the people to make the decision if they want to smoke weed or not.
The new states now allowing recreational marijuana are Massachusetts, Maine, California and Nevada. These four states are now on the recreational list with Colorado, Washington, Oregon and Alaska. Each state laws are slightly different, but all of them allow people to carry a permissible amount of marijuana.
Voters voted yes to legalize recreational use, possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana. The bill calls for regulation along the lines of alcohol. Now, anyone over 21 can grow up to six plant at a time. A majority of voters supported the measure 54% yes to 46% no. The bill legalizes recreational marijuana starting on December 15.
The bill that passed in Maine legalized the recreational use, possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana to adults over 21. Maine already allows medicinal marijuana use. The results were barely split and the bill was just able to pass.
In California on November 8, voters chose yes on Proposition 64. This bill to legalize the recreational use, possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana. Legalization is limited to people over age 21. There’s a $100 fine for smoking in public, and driving under the influence of marijuana remains illegal. California residents are allowed to grow up to six plants in their homes, and recreational sales from shops will become legal on January 1, 2018. The west coast is now officially recreational.
The penalties for making hashish or concentrates depends on what method was used during the manufacture. If the manufacturing process involved extraction chemicals, such as butane, then it is considered manufacture by means of chemical synthesis of a controlled substance. Manufacture by means of chemical synthesis of a controlled substance carries a fine no greater than $50,000 and a term of imprisonment of 3, 5, or 7 years as determined by the court. If the manufacturing process utilized screens, presses, or any other means not involving a chemical synthesis, then the offense is considered unauthorized processing of marijuana. Unauthorized processing of marijuana carries a term of imprisonment 16 months, 2 years, or three years as determined by the court.
If California did it, how can Nevada not. The bill that passed in Nevada legalized the recreational use, possession, cultivation, and sale of marijuana. Legalization is limited to people over 21. As of January 1, 2018, Nevada residents are legally allowed to possess up to 1 ounce of marijuana. Only licensed medical marijuana dispensaries are allowed to apply for licenses for recreational sales.